Quick answer: On Aosom’s UK site, the strongest published durability signals in the office-chair range belong to the HOMCOM Heavy Duty Faux Leather Desk Chair (SKU 921-785V70BK, £143.99) and the HOMCOM Leathaire Big and Tall Executive Chair (SKU 925-008V70BK, £142.99). The heavy-duty model publishes a 227kg capacity, a metal frame and a 25.6kg chair weight; the big-and-tall model publishes a grade-four gas lift, a steel base and 180kg. Both figures were captured on 17 August 2026. Neither listing publishes a service-life estimate, so treat these as load and mechanism specifications, not longevity guarantees. [1][2]
Aosom is the retailer and HOMCOM and Vinsetto are its office-seating sub-brands. This article compares the published specifications of chairs sold on aosom.co.uk against brand-independent standards. It does not rank them against products the listings do not describe.
Which durability signals are actually published?
Most chair listings describe comfort. Only a few fields describe how the chair is built, and those are the ones worth reading first.
Gas-lift class. The gas lift raises and lowers the seat and takes the load every time somebody sits down. Two chairs in this range state a class: the £80.99 foldable-backrest model lists a class-three gas lift, and the £142.99 big-and-tall model lists a grade-four gas lift. Most other listings in the range do not state a class at all. Where the class is absent, treat it as undisclosed. [1][3]
Base and frame material. A base carries the whole chair and every sideways load. The heavy-duty model lists a metal frame, and the big-and-tall model lists a steel base and steel frame. A stated material is more useful than the word “sturdy”.
Published capacity with headroom. Capacity across the range runs from 120kg to 227kg. A chair used near its ceiling works harder than the same chair used well below it, which is why headroom matters more than the headline number.
Chair weight. Weight is an indirect but honest proxy for how much material is in a chair. Across the four models with published weights, chair weight tracks capacity closely: 11kg at 120kg capacity, 20.4kg at 180kg, and 25.6kg at 227kg. [1][2][3]
BS EN 1335 provides a brand-independent reference for office-chair dimensions, safety requirements and test methods, and BIFMA X5.1 covers general-purpose office-chair testing. Neither listing in this comparison claims either standard, so use them as the yardstick you ask about, not as a feature these chairs advertise. [4]
The four specifications that predict a longer service life
| Model and SKU | Price on 17 Aug 2026 | Gas lift stated | Base or frame | Capacity | Chair weight | Seat height |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ergonomic Chair, Foldable Backrest, 2D Headrest — 921-940V71LG | £80.99 | Class three | Metal base stated in listing | 120kg | 11kg | 46–56cm |
| Linen-Look Executive Chair, Flip-Up Armrests — 921-851V71BK | £77.99 | Not stated | Metal | 120kg | 13kg | 47–57cm |
| Leathaire Big and Tall Executive Chair — 925-008V70BK | £142.99 | Grade four | Steel | 180kg | 20.4kg | 48–56cm |
| Heavy Duty Faux Leather Desk Chair — 921-785V70BK | £143.99 | Not stated | Metal | 227kg | 25.6kg | 52–59.5cm |
Read the table as a pattern instead of a ranking. The two chairs near £143 publish materially higher load figures and carry noticeably more mass than the two near £80. The two cheaper chairs share the same 120kg ceiling, and the cheaper of the pair is the only one in this group that states a gas-lift class. [1][2][3][5]

Where each verified model earns its keep
Highest published load: Heavy Duty Faux Leather Desk Chair
At £143.99 this model publishes the highest capacity in the comparison at 227kg, on a 74.5 × 78 × 116.5–124cm frame with a 58 × 47cm seat and a 52–59.5cm seat-height range. Seat and back padding are both listed at 13cm over high-density foam, and the chair weighs 25.6kg. Its product page states BS 5852 for upholstery ignitability; that is a fire-test claim recorded for this model and not evidence about its mechanism life. The listing records 4.9 out of 5 from 12 product-page reviews and describes assembly as achievable in about 20 minutes. [1]
Two practical boundaries come with it. The seat starts at 52cm, which is high for shorter users sharing the same desk, and the listing recommends carpet as the surface. Check both before ordering.
Strongest mechanism disclosure: Leathaire Big and Tall Executive Chair
At £142.99 this is the only model in the group that publishes a grade-four gas lift together with a steel base, and it pairs them with a 180kg capacity. The seat measures 59 × 50cm across a 48–56cm height range, the backrest is 65 × 74cm, and seat and back padding are listed at 14cm over pocket springs and high-density foam. Its stated suitability is users under 200cm, and the reclining footprint grows to 71 × 153 × 98cm at full 135° recline. [2]
The seat sits 4cm lower at minimum than the heavy-duty model, which usually suits a wider range of leg lengths. The trade-off is the deeper reclining footprint, which needs real clearance behind the desk.
Lightest build with a stated gas-lift class: Foldable-Backrest Ergonomic Chair
At £80.99 this model states a class-three gas lift, a 120kg capacity, a 54 × 52cm seat across a 46–56cm range and a 50 × 70cm backrest with 12cm of headrest adjustment. At 11kg it is the lightest chair here, and its foldable backrest and flip-up arms make it the easiest to move out of the way in a shared room. Its listing recommends a hard floor. [3]
This is the chair to compare against the others when the room matters as much as the workload. It publishes less structural margin, so it suits shorter daily sessions.
What a published capacity figure does not tell you
A 227kg rating describes a structural limit. It does not describe cushion resilience, mesh tension retention, castor wear or how a recline mechanism behaves after two years, because none of those figures appear on these listings.
None of the four models publishes a warranty term, a cycle-test result or a service-life estimate. That absence is not evidence of poor durability; it means the listings cannot settle the question, so the decision has to rest on the specifications that are published.
Two of the four models publish a floor recommendation, and they differ: carpet for the heavy-duty chair, hard floor for the foldable model. Matching that recommendation protects both the castors and the floor.
The UK Health and Safety Executive treats the chair, desk and screen as one display-screen workstation and advises adjusting posture and taking breaks from prolonged screen work. A chair that fits the desk correctly is worked less awkwardly, which is the part of longevity a buyer can actually influence. [6]

Five checks before ordering
- Gas-lift class: look for a stated class. If the listing is silent, record it as undisclosed instead of assuming a grade.
- Base material: confirm the listing names metal or steel rather than describing the chair as robust.
- Capacity headroom: choose a figure comfortably above the user’s weight, not level with it.
- Seat-height range: check the minimum as carefully as the maximum, especially when two people share the desk.
- Floor recommendation: match carpet or hard floor to the room you actually have.
Overall chair height is the least useful shortcut of all. It bundles headrest and gas-lift travel together and reveals nothing about how the seat and lumbar area meet your body.
FAQ
Q: Which specification matters most for a chair that lasts?
The load path: gas lift, base material and published capacity. Between the two chairs near £143, one states a grade-four gas lift with a steel base at 180kg and the other states a metal frame at 227kg. Upholstery and padding affect how a chair feels and looks over time, but the load path decides whether it still feels structurally solid.
Q: Does a higher price always mean a longer-lasting chair?
Not on its own. In this comparison the two chairs near £143 do publish higher capacities and heavier builds than the two near £80, but the £80.99 model is the only one of the four to state a gas-lift class. Compare the published fields, not the price alone.
Q: What weight capacity should I look for?
One with headroom above the user’s weight. The range here spans 120kg to 227kg. If a chair will be shared, size it for the heavier user and check the seat-height minimum suits the shorter one.
Q: Do these chairs carry BS EN 1335 or BIFMA X5.1?
Neither listing in this comparison claims either standard, so they should not be described as certified to them. Both remain useful brand-independent references for chair dimensions and testing, and the heavy-duty model separately states BS 5852 for upholstery ignitability, which is a fire-safety claim rather than a structural one.
Q: Is a heavier chair always the better buy?
No, but weight is an honest clue about material content, and in this group it tracks capacity from 11kg at 120kg up to 25.6kg at 227kg. A heavier chair is harder to move around a small room, so weigh the structural margin against how often the chair has to shift.
Key takeaways
- The heavy-duty model at £143.99 publishes the highest capacity at 227kg with a metal frame, a 52–59.5cm seat height and a 25.6kg chair weight.
- The big-and-tall model at £142.99 is the only one here stating both a grade-four gas lift and a steel base, at 180kg and a 48–56cm seat height.
- The £80.99 foldable model states a class-three gas lift at 120kg and, at 11kg, is the easiest to move in a shared room.
- Chair weight tracks published capacity across all four models, which makes it a useful secondary clue about material content.
- No listing here publishes a warranty term or service-life figure, so buy on published load path, fit and floor recommendation.
Prices, ratings and specifications were captured from aosom.co.uk product pages on 17 August 2026. They may reflect promotions; confirm live details before buying.
References
- HOMCOM Ergonomic Office Chair, Heavy Duty Faux Leather Desk Chair, 227kg — Aosom UK
- HOMCOM Executive Office Chair, Leathaire Big and Tall, 180kg — Aosom UK
- HOMCOM Ergonomic Office Chair with Foldable Backrest and 2D Headrest — Aosom UK
- BS EN 1335 — Office furniture, office work chair: dimensions and safety requirements (BSI)
- HOMCOM Linen-Look Computer Desk Chair with Flip-Up Armrests — Aosom UK
- Working safely with display screen equipment (DSE) — UK Health and Safety Executive