Quick answer
For the smallest verified mobile footprint, choose the HOMCOM Wood-Top Kitchen Trolley (SKU 801-126). It measures 66W × 39.5D × 86.5H cm, has a 57 × 39.5 cm rubberwood top, four castors with two brakes and a published 50 kg overall limit. For more work surface and divided storage, choose the HOMCOM Drop-Leaf Mobile Kitchen Island (SKU 801-173V00GY). It measures 111.5W × 45D × 89H cm, and its rubberwood top expands from 91 × 45 cm to 91 × 75 cm; the listing states five castors, two brakes, 50 kg overall and 20 kg on the top. Prices captured on 28 July 2026 were £72.99 and £169.99 respectively. [1] [2]
“Best” here means the stronger match for a stated job within this two-product verified sample. It does not mean every freestanding kitchen cupboard is a trolley. A unit needs explicit mobility and work-surface evidence before this guide treats it as a cart or island.
How the two products were compared
The comparison uses four gates:
- Product-type gate: the listing must explicitly identify a trolley or mobile island rather than a stationary cupboard.
- Mobility gate: wheels or castors must be stated, with braking details kept exactly as published.
- Work-surface gate: the top must be described and measured rather than inferred from a flat-looking panel.
- Evidence gate: overall dimensions, storage layout and load figures remain attached to the exact SKU. A whole-unit limit is not silently reassigned to a shelf or top.
Prices and ratings are dated snapshots, not permanent product facts. Where a component-level load is absent, this guide says so rather than dividing the overall figure by eye.
The verified trolley and mobile island compared
| Specification | Wood-Top Kitchen Trolley — 801-126 | Drop-Leaf Mobile Island — 801-173V00GY |
|---|---|---|
| Snapshot price | £72.99 | £169.99 |
| Overall size | 66W × 39.5D × 86.5H cm | 111.5W × 45D × 89H cm |
| Work surface | 57 × 39.5 cm rubberwood top | 91 × 45 cm closed; 91 × 75 cm open rubberwood top |
| Storage | One drawer; three open shelves; cupboard with adjustable shelf; side rail | Three drawers; two-door cupboard with adjustable shelf; spice rack; towel rail |
| Castors | Four; two braked | Five; two braked |
| Published load | 50 kg overall; separate top limit not published | 50 kg overall; 20 kg top |
| Captured product rating | 4.7/5 from 57 reviews | Not published in the captured record |
| Best fit within this sample | Tight galley, studio or smaller parking position | Larger prep zone where the open leaf has clearance |
The trolley is 45.5 cm narrower and 5.5 cm shallower when parked. The island provides a much larger top and more enclosed divisions, but the open leaf adds 30 cm to the top depth. [1] [2]
Best for the smallest parking space: 801-126
The 66 × 39.5 cm trolley is the practical choice when the available floor rectangle is the first constraint. Its storage is split between a drawer, three open shelves and a cupboard with an adjustable shelf, while the 57 × 39.5 cm rubberwood top creates a small staging or preparation zone. [1]
Its 50 kg figure applies to the complete trolley. The captured listing does not publish a separate top or shelf limit, so do not treat 50 kg as permission to load one component. Check the current instructions before placing a dense appliance or concentrating heavy tins on one shelf.

Best when open worktop area matters: 801-173V00GY
The drop-leaf island starts at 111.5 × 45 cm and opens to a 91 × 75 cm top. That makes it the stronger option when the kitchen is short of usable surface rather than only storage. Beneath the top are three drawers, a two-door cupboard with an adjustable shelf, a spice rack and a towel rail. [2]
The listing separates 20 kg on the top from 50 kg overall, which makes its evidence clearer for work-surface planning. That still does not establish appliance compatibility, heat clearance or food-contact use for every task; the appliance instructions and current product manual remain separate checks.
A cupboard is not a cart just because it is freestanding
“Freestanding” describes installation, not movement. A cupboard can provide excellent enclosed storage without having castors, brakes or a verified worktop role. Conversely, a trolley can be mobile but still fail the room if its parked or working footprint blocks the route.
Use the product nouns and stated hardware as a gate. If the exact listing does not state wheels, do not infer them from a lifestyle photograph. If it does not identify the top as a work surface or publish its dimensions, do not promote it as an island worktop. A fixed cupboard may still be the better choice when vertical storage matters more than mobility.
A practical decision path
- Define the missing function. Choose storage, work surface, serving mobility or a combination before comparing dimensions.
- Tape out the parked footprint. Mark 66 × 39.5 cm for 801-126 or 111.5 × 45 cm for 801-173V00GY.
- Add the working zone. For the island, extend the tape to 75 cm of top depth and leave space for the user to stand.
- Test every nearby door. Open the fridge, oven, dishwasher and room door while the taped outline remains in place.
- Check the route in and out. Measure the narrowest doorway, hall turn and stair landing against the unit’s assembled outline.
- Separate top and overall loads. Use the island’s 20 kg top limit where relevant; do not invent an equivalent for the trolley.
- Plan movement. Move a loaded cart only as instructed, and engage both brakes whenever it is parked for use.
- Recheck the exact SKU. Confirm live price, stock, instructions and included parts before payment.
Checks before buying
| Check | What the captured data answers | What still needs confirmation |
|---|---|---|
| Parked size | Exact overall dimensions for both units | Skirting, uneven walls and the real route through the room |
| Open-leaf size | 91 × 75 cm top on 801-173V00GY | Standing clearance and nearby appliance-door movement |
| Mobility | Four/two braked castors on the trolley; five/two braked on the island | Floor suitability, assembly and brake operation in the current manual |
| Work surface | Rubberwood dimensions on both products | Appliance heat, ventilation, cable route and food-contact practice |
| Loads | 50 kg overall on both; 20 kg top on the island | Any unpublished drawer or shelf limits |
| Storage | Published drawer, shelf, cupboard and side-rack layouts | Internal dimensions where not stated |
| Commerce | Dated prices and one captured rating sample | Live price, availability and current review picture |
BS EN 14749 provides an independent reference for domestic kitchen storage units and worktops, but neither product page used here is treated as publishing model-level certification to that standard. [3]
Common mistakes
- Calling any freestanding cupboard a mobile island.
- Measuring only the parked body and ignoring the open leaf and standing zone.
- Treating a 50 kg overall limit as a 50 kg worktop limit.
- Assuming every wheel locks when only two brakes are stated.
- Loading the top before checking appliance weight, heat and ventilation requirements.
- Using a product rating without its review count or capture date.
- Comparing price while ignoring whether the room needs storage or work surface.
- Moving the unit while drawers, doors or loose items are unsecured.
FAQ
Q: Which verified option is better for a very small kitchen?
Within this sample, 801-126 is easier to place because it parks at 66 × 39.5 cm. It still adds a measured rubberwood top, drawer, open shelves and enclosed storage. The larger island earns its space through a much bigger work surface, but it requires a 111.5 × 45 cm parked rectangle before the leaf is opened. [1] [2]
Q: How much surface does the drop leaf add?
The island top changes from 91 × 45 cm to 91 × 75 cm. The leaf therefore adds 30 cm of depth. That gain is useful only if the room can also spare standing space and a clear route behind the user. [2]
Q: Are the castors enough to make either unit safe for prep?
Castors provide movement; brakes help hold the unit when parked. Safety still depends on correct assembly, level flooring, published loads and the current instructions. The trolley has four castors with two brakes; the island has five with two brakes. Do not lean into either unit with the brakes disengaged. [1] [2]
Q: Can a microwave sit on the top?
The product data alone cannot answer that. The island publishes a 20 kg top limit, while the trolley’s captured record gives only a 50 kg overall limit. Weight is only one check: compare the appliance’s ventilation, heat clearance, cable route and instructions with the exact available surface.
Q: When is a fixed cupboard the better choice?
Choose a fixed cupboard when the main shortage is enclosed vertical storage and the furniture can be installed exactly as instructed. Choose a cart when movement and a measured work surface are the core requirements. Do not use a cart label or a flat top as a substitute for product-level evidence.
Key takeaways
- 801-126 is the compact choice at 66 × 39.5 × 86.5 cm.
- 801-173V00GY provides the larger work zone, opening from a 91 × 45 cm to a 91 × 75 cm top.
- Both publish 50 kg overall; only the island publishes a separate 20 kg top limit.
- Two brakes are stated on each product, not brakes on every castor.
- Measure parked size, working size and standing room as three separate zones.
- A freestanding cupboard is not a trolley unless mobility and work-surface evidence are explicit.
Prices and the trolley rating were captured on 28 July 2026 and may reflect promotions. Confirm the live exact-SKU page and current instructions before buying.