Quick answer
Choose by the missing function, not by whichever product looks most “multi-purpose” in a photograph.
- For shallow vertical storage, the HOMCOM 83A-571V00WW tall cabinet uses a 60 × 30 cm floor footprint and rises to 170 cm. It publishes 60 kg overall, 10 kg per shelf and included anti-tip hardware. [1]
- For the smallest verified mobile work surface, the 801-126 trolley parks at 66 × 39.5 cm and provides a 57 × 39.5 cm rubberwood top on four castors, two braked. [2]
- For a larger expandable work zone, the 801-173V00GY mobile island parks at 111.5 × 45 cm and opens its top from 91 × 45 cm to 91 × 75 cm. [3]
These are three different product types. “Freestanding” does not mean mobile, and a flat top does not prove appliance compatibility or a food-preparation rating.
How the three product types were compared
The guide uses five decision fields:
- Primary function: enclosed vertical storage, mobile staging or expandable surface.
- Parked and working envelope: the body size plus doors, leaf and standing space.
- Load scope: overall, shelf and top limits remain separate.
- Movement or stability: castors and brakes for mobile units; anti-tip instructions for the tall cabinet.
- Evidence date: prices, stock and ratings are dated snapshots rather than permanent specifications.
The sample deliberately uses one exact SKU for each role. It is not a ranking of every cabinet or trolley in the catalogue.
Three verified small-kitchen options
| Product type and exact SKU | Parked size | Work surface and storage | Movement or stability | Published loads | Captured commerce |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tall cabinet — 83A-571V00WW | 60W × 30D × 170H cm; 25 kg | Four doors; two cupboards; two open shelves; six shelves total; only one shelf explicitly adjustable over three positions | Floor-standing; anti-tip hardware included; assembly required; one package | 60 kg overall; 10 kg per shelf | £74.99; InStock; rating not published on 3 September 2026 |
| Compact trolley — 801-126 | 66W × 39.5D × 86.5H cm | 57 × 39.5 cm rubberwood top; drawer; three open shelves; single-door cupboard with adjustable shelf; side rail | Four castors; two brakes | 50 kg overall; separate top limit not published | £72.99; 4.7/5 from 57 reviews on 28 July 2026 |
| Drop-leaf mobile island — 801-173V00GY | 111.5W × 45D × 89H cm | Rubberwood top 91 × 45 cm closed and 91 × 75 cm open; three drawers; two-door cupboard; spice rack; towel rail | Five castors; two brakes | 50 kg overall; 20 kg top | £169.99 on 28 July 2026 |
The prices were not captured on the same day, so they describe historical snapshots rather than a live price ranking. The package count also does not reveal carton dimensions or packaged weight.
Choose the tall cabinet for shallow vertical storage
At 30 cm deep, 83A-571V00WW adds height without projecting as far into the room as either mobile option. Its four doors, two cupboards and two open shelves suit dry-goods or tableware overflow where the wall position is more valuable than another worktop. [1]
The record states six shelves in total, but only one shelf is explicitly adjustable over three positions. Do not describe all six as adjustable. The two open shelves remain shelf zones; the record does not name them as a countertop or appliance bay.
“Freestanding” does not cancel the supplied anti-tip provision. Use the current instructions, suitable fixings and the actual wall construction. If a tenancy or wall condition prevents the required installation, this tall cabinet may not be the right product for that location.
Choose 801-126 for mobile staging in a tight galley
The 66 × 39.5 cm trolley is the smallest parked mobile footprint in this sample. It combines a measured rubberwood top with one drawer, three open shelves and a small cupboard. Four castors carry the unit and two are braked. [2]
The published 50 kg figure applies to the complete trolley. The captured record does not publish a separate top, drawer or shelf limit, so do not assign 50 kg to the rubberwood surface. Check the current manual before concentrating heavy items or placing an appliance.
Mobility is useful only if the trolley also has a safe parking position. Keep both brakes engaged during stationary use and leave the appliance-door and walking routes clear.
Choose 801-173V00GY when the open work surface earns the footprint
The grey island is the largest option. It parks at 111.5 × 45 cm, while the top opens from 45 cm to 75 cm deep. The extra 30 cm is useful only if the room can also spare standing space and a clear route behind the user. [3]
This product provides the clearest component-level surface evidence in the sample: 20 kg on the top and 50 kg overall. That does not automatically confirm compatibility with a microwave, kettle or other appliance. Weight, ventilation, heat, cable routing and the appliance instructions must all work together.
The island has five castors and two brakes. Do not assume every wheel locks, and do not move it while drawers, doors or loose items are unsecured.
If anchoring is not possible
A lower mobile trolley may be more appropriate than a tall cabinet when the cabinet instructions require anti-tip installation that cannot be completed correctly. This is not a blanket “no-drill renter” rule: tenancy terms, wall type and product instructions all matter.
The mobile units avoid a tall vertical body, but they introduce castors, brakes and moving loads. They still need level flooring, correct assembly and a route that remains clear in both parked and working states.
If an appliance is part of the plan
Do not decide from top area alone. Check:
- the appliance’s complete weight against the applicable component limit;
- ventilation on every required side;
- heat and steam clearance;
- cable length, socket position and trip risk;
- whether the top is identified for that use;
- whether an open leaf or moving trolley could disturb the cable;
- the current furniture and appliance instructions.
The 801-173V00GY publishes a 20 kg top limit. The 801-126 does not publish a separate top limit in the evidence used here. The tall cabinet’s open shelves are not named as an appliance countertop.
A practical decision path
- Name the shortage. Choose vertical storage, a mobile staging surface or a larger expandable top.
- Tape the parked footprint. Mark 60 × 30, 66 × 39.5 or 111.5 × 45 cm.
- Add the working envelope. Include open doors, the 75 cm drop-leaf depth and space for the user.
- Open every nearby appliance and room door. Test the fridge, oven, dishwasher and entry route.
- Check height and wall conditions. The 170 cm cabinet needs top clearance, skirting allowance and correct anti-tip installation.
- Keep load scopes separate. Overall, shelf and top figures are not interchangeable.
- Plan sockets and heat. Do not infer appliance compatibility from a flat surface.
- Check movement hardware. Count the stated castors and brakes; use brakes whenever the unit is parked.
- Plan delivery and assembly. Package count does not reveal carton size, weight or access route.
- Recheck the live exact SKU. Price, stock, rating, instructions and included hardware can change.
Room and product checks
| Check | Tall cabinet | Compact trolley | Drop-leaf island |
|---|---|---|---|
| Floor rectangle | 60 × 30 cm | 66 × 39.5 cm | 111.5 × 45 cm parked |
| Extra working space | Door access and standing room | Standing room and movement route | Leaf expands top to 75 cm depth plus standing room |
| Stability control | Anti-tip hardware and wall/floor suitability | Four castors; two brakes | Five castors; two brakes |
| Component loads | 10 kg per shelf; 60 kg overall | Separate component limits not published in captured record | 20 kg top; 50 kg overall |
| Wall/skirting | Critical for vertical alignment and fixing | Parking clearance only | Parking and open-leaf clearance |
| Sockets and cables | Keep open shelves and doors clear | Check any proposed appliance separately | Check top use, cable and moving-leaf path separately |
| Assembly/logistics | One captured package; dimensions not published | Carton facts not stated here | Carton facts not stated here |
Conflicts and evidence limits
- 83A-571V00WW: six shelves are stated, but only one is explicitly adjustable. Do not expand that feature to every shelf. [1]
- 801-126: 50 kg is an overall limit. No separate top limit is published in the captured evidence. [2]
- 801-173V00GY: 20 kg top and 50 kg overall are separate figures. [3]
- July and September prices are not a same-day live comparison.
InStockand rating fields are time-specific, not promises about the current listing.- One package does not establish parcel dimensions, parcel weight or easy handling.
- BS EN 14749 is a category-level safety reference; this article does not claim model-level certification for any of the three products. [4]
Common mistakes
- Buying a tall cupboard when the real shortage is work surface.
- Calling any freestanding unit mobile.
- Measuring only width and ignoring depth, doors and standing room.
- Treating all six cabinet shelves as adjustable.
- Assigning an overall load to one top or shelf.
- Assuming every castor has a brake.
- Treating “freestanding” as permission to ignore anti-tip instructions.
- Placing an appliance from weight alone without checking heat and ventilation.
- Comparing snapshot prices captured on different dates as live offers.
- Ignoring the delivery route and assembly space.
FAQ
Q: Is 30 cm depth always best for a small kitchen?
No. It is useful where walkway projection is the main constraint, which is why the tall cabinet fits a 60 × 30 cm floor rectangle. A trolley or island may justify more depth by adding a usable work surface and mobility. Start with the missing function.
Q: Does a freestanding tall cabinet need wall fixing?
Follow the exact instructions. SKU 83A-571V00WW includes anti-tip hardware, so “freestanding” should not be read as permission to omit the prescribed stability measure. Wall construction and suitable fixings still need assessment. [1]
Q: Is a kitchen trolley the same as a mobile island?
Both can move, but size and function differ. The 801-126 is a 66 cm compact trolley with a 57 × 39.5 cm top. The 801-173V00GY is a 111.5 cm island whose top opens to 91 × 75 cm and includes more divided storage. [2][3]
Q: Can I put a microwave on either mobile unit?
The furniture data alone cannot confirm it. The island publishes a 20 kg top limit; the trolley does not publish a separate top limit in this evidence. Appliance weight, ventilation, heat, cable route and both manuals must also be checked.
Q: What does the overall load mean?
It describes the complete unit’s published capacity, not the allowance for each component. Use the 10 kg shelf limit on the cabinet and the 20 kg top limit on the island where those specific figures are stated. Do not divide or reassign the overall number yourself.
Q: Which option is easiest to move?
The mobile products have castors, but “easiest” is not established by the listing. The trolley is smaller; the island is larger and has five castors. Load, floor surface, thresholds, brake use and the route all affect movement. Empty and secure the unit before relocating it as instructed.
Key takeaways
- Choose the 30 cm-deep cabinet for vertical storage, not for an inferred worktop.
- Choose 801-126 for the smallest verified mobile footprint and staging surface.
- Choose 801-173V00GY only when the larger parked body and open leaf have real clearance.
- Freestanding does not cancel anti-tip instructions.
- Overall, shelf and top loads must remain separate.
- Check appliance heat, ventilation and cables as well as weight.
- Compare function and room envelope before comparing snapshot price.
Prices, availability and ratings are snapshots from 28 July or 3 September 2026. Confirm the live exact-SKU page, current instructions and included hardware before buying.
References
- HOMCOM 170 cm Kitchen Pantry Cabinet with Soft-Close Hinges, White Wood Effect (SKU 83A-571V00WW) — Aosom UK
- HOMCOM Kitchen Trolley with Wood Top and Storage Cupboard (SKU 801-126) — Aosom UK
- HOMCOM Drop-Leaf Mobile Kitchen Island with Drawers, Towel and Spice Rack (SKU 801-173V00GY) — Aosom UK
- BS EN 14749 — Domestic and kitchen storage units and worktops: safety requirements and test methods — BSI
